Pete Brassett

Editions:Kindle - First Kindle edition: £1.99
Pages: 200
Paperback - First paperback edition: £6.99
ISBN: 1791755615
Size: 5x8 in
Pages: 218
Audiobook - Whole Story QUEST unabridged edition

Published: 12/10/2018
Publisher: The Book Folks

Arran islanders respond angrily when a girl dies in the fells. A subsequent death on the mainland is further cause for concern.

The conditions were terrible for a hike up Arran’s highest peak, Goat Fell, so why did a group of schoolgirls attempt it? One of the girls presses on when the others turn back; inappropriately dressed and unprepared, she meets her death.

After mountain rescue retrieve the body, various questions start to be raised. Inconsistencies in her companions’ accounts of events are exposed, and it turns out the victim may have been drugged.

The police investigation begins to centre on a suave, enigmatic Italian man who has made his home on the mainland. Having conquered more than a few hearts, it is his past record that troubles detective Charlie West.

When the body of another young woman is found, police move quickly. But have they got the right guy? And what is really driving these killings?

Full of nice twists, red herrings, deadpan humour, and based in an atmospheric setting, readers will love this book.
RANCOUR is the eighth Scottish murder mystery to feature detectives James Munro and Charlie West. It can be perfectly enjoyed as a standalone. Try it out now, and discover your next favourite crime fiction series.

The full list of books, in order of publication, is as follows: SHE, AVARICE, ENMITY, DUPLICITY, TERMINUS, TALION, PERDITION, RANCOUR, PENITENT, TURPITUDE, HUBRIS, PENURY and RUSE.

All of these books are FREE with Kindle Unlimited and available in paperback.